Why do We Stay in Bondage?

Walk-by-Faith-Not-by-sight

I’ve found that the funny thing about freedom is that instead of walking in that freedom, sometimes it’s easier to cling to what we know. Sometimes we are so used to our bondage that instead of being courageous, and exploring new things, we default to the same mind sets and attitudes that we have grown accustomed to. The example that comes to mind is the one about the dog who’s been chained to a fence his whole life, then when his chain is finally removed, he still never leaves his yard. He still thinks and acts as thought the chain that keeps him bound is still around his neck. And that is honestly the pattern that I’ve seen happening in my own life.

What helped me see I was acting this way was my search for a temporary job. And even in my consideration of upcoming and new job opportunities. In the past I’ve been a girl that excels at anything customer service oriented, or call center-ish. Particularly, food service has been my niche. I enjoy interacting with customers, I enjoy making quality food products they enjoy, and I love the fast paced environment. Nothing is at all wrong with that. I thank God that he’s given me talent in this area, and not only that, I thank God that I actually ENJOY working in this area. However, there are also other things I enjoy (like acting and singing), but I’ve never stepped out in those fields to see if I would be successful in them. So in looking for a new job, I noticed that the areas I stick to, are the ones that I KNOW I’ll be good at. I look for jobs in food service, call centers, or sales. And although, I enjoy these areas, you can always sense when things in your life have changed, and when it’s time to move on and to step into an area of the unknown. But the biggest thing that was holding me back from doing that was fear.

So I’m writing this post, just to put that out there. As a note to myself and to others that familiarity and staleness are one of the things that keep us bound from stepping out and living in the freedom that is ours. I’m writing this as a reminder to myself, not to be afraid of the unknown or unfamiliar. As a reminder to live by faith, not fear.

Faith-First Step Fear is Faith

3 Comments Add yours

  1. jessejames23 says:

    I can totally relate to this post. After living a life filled with chaos for so many years its hard for me to break that chain and walk solely by faith; I feel I need to know everything that is going to happen to feel comfortable. With God’s help I know it can be changed, but I also know it took years of trauma and chaos to get it that way so it won’t change overnight. Check out Jeremy Camp’s music, he has a song titled “Walk by Faith” Keep up the great posts!

    1. Thanks so much for reading! And I’ve checked out your stuff and I enjoy them as well 🙂

What are your thoughts?

