Keep your eyes open…

I know that everyone who reads my blog will eventually tire of hearing about NEEDTOBREATHE and the amazing way that their songs minister to me. I began the day with their song “Keep your eyes open” on my heart, and though my day has been a little rough, i still wanted to end it on a NEEDTOBREATHE NOTE 🙂

I’ve said before that this song is te current soundtrack of my life. And that’s is all because the lyrics talk so much about facing your fears and the hard things in your life, and how at the end of all the craziness you go through there will be god and positivity waiting for you on the other side.

“If you could soldier on, headstrong into the storm . I’ll be here waiting on the other side. Don’t look back, the road is long. The first days of the war are gone. Take back your former throne and turn the tide.”

Just that verse alone speaks volumes to me. Life won’t always be easy, but the only way to get out of tough situations is to go through them.

Then the chorus goes on to talk about taking risks and moving beyond our comfort zones. But the meat and potatoes of the song for me is the bridge that says

“Don’t let the night become the day. Don’t take the darkness to the grave.I know pain is just a place where The will has been broken.Don’t let the fear become the hate. Don’t take the sadness to the grave. I know the fight is on the way.
When the sides have been chosen”

That is my favorite part of the song, because it talks about no matter what I’ve been through it won’t/doesnt/shouldnt define me.

What are your thoughts?

