Friends.

You are my friends. The close people I have in my life, that KNOW they are close to me. Those that KNOW, without it even being said, that they are my friends. THOSE people are my true friends. The people that know my heart. Regardless of how long we’ve known each other. Regardless of how close or far apart we are in distance. Those people are my friends.
And I’m okay with that.
I appreciate the friends that God has given me. And I guess I’m just finally realizing that not everyone that God puts in my life is going to be that story book “best friend” that you read about in childhood books like “The Babysitters Club” or “Sweet Valley High”. Reality is that close friends, best friends come in many different shapes and sizes. It’s time to throw away the fairytale Krystal.
I think for the longest time I’ve sought after the fairytale best friends (Seriously…like the girls described in The Babysitters Club..that wasn’t just an example lol). That group of girls that knows EVERY single thing about you. The girls that one glance can speak the unspoken. I’ve been searching for that group of friends where no matter where you are or what you’re doing….you fit. And I think it’s finally time to lay the fairytale to rest and to call a spade a spade. I’m really just seeking another band aid to cover up that wound and empty place in my heart.
I’m using the search and pursuit of best friends as a way to cover up that hole inside my heart (and inside each of us) that is looking to belong. I’m looking to people and hoping that they will do what only God can do.
So. I’ll say it again…….it’s time to lay the fairytale to rest Krystal. Appreciate the few close friends that God has given you. Embrace the truth that it’s in a different package from what you were looking for, but the steadiness and depth of true companionship and camaraderie is still there. Stop looking to people and forcing them to fit into the mold of what you think they should be to you in your life.
Embrace what God has given you. See the beauty around you. Love on your friends and appreciate the others that God has placed in your life as just good people.

Release the fairytale. Embrace the truth.

“Unveil me…completely I’m loosening my grasp..Theres no need to mask my frailty.” – Natalie Grant

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Indeed! Well said sis
    The only thing I would say differently is, “Shoot the fairytale. Embrace Truth”

    1. Lol…that is indeed a Max comment! Love it!

What are your thoughts?

