Love (continued :)

Last night was a great night.

I went out and met some amazing people, some of them were strangers, others were people who I’d met before. But the point wasnt even really what I did. It was the actual experience.

So I went to this Coffee/Live Music place that I’ve been wanting to go to for quite some time. I went by myself, just because……..why not? So while I was there I found that I was actually “trying” to start-up conversation and “trying” to meet people. Eventually I just said to myself “It’s okay to just BE. Stop trying so hard and just be natural.” So that’s what I did. And when I let all of that pressure off of myself, that’s when I REALLY started to have fun. Instead of looking for that magical moment where I meet someone and we will become best friends (that thought is always in the back of my head sometimes) I just let go, and let God. And I had a great time. Not forcing anything…just being.

So after about an hour at this place I went to my new favorite place for karaoke and ran into someone I met my very first time going there. Coincidentally we were both by ourselves and we had a great time. Just relaxing, chilling, singing, being ourselves and having fun.

I think the biggest thing that stuck out to me about last night, was that once I told myself to stop trying so hard, it was almost like I forgot I was by myself and I was FREE to just have fun. Even in meeting up with my friend at karaoke there was nothing forced, nothing contrived, just me being genuine me. Doing the things I love (singing, laughing) and having a good time. I’m very happy I went, and that lesson is a great lesson when it comes to personal freedom. I don’t need to “try” so hard. God loves me just as I am. I’m ok….just as I am.

Another thing I realized was in that when U gave myself the FREEDOM to just be me, it also gave me the freedom to freely love other people, just as they are. I realized this when I met up with my friend at karaoke. She and I have only met each other once before, but does that mean that I’m not a good friend to her the way I would be a good friend to someone I knew for years! I felt free to enjoy myself, have a good time, and be a friend regardless of how I was treated. Almost like because I knew that me being nice to her (and to others) wont diminish my happiness, because my happiness doesn’t come from them. It comes from a source that will never run dry, and that will never fail.

I love it. Great night, great time, Looking forward for more to come!  🙂

In Summary:

  1. Its okay to be me! I dont have to try SOOO hard. Just be me.
  2. I can love others and be okay regardless of how they treat me because I am okay with myself. I love myself. Not because Im so great, or because I do everything right. But just because, and that FREE’s me, liberates me to love others…Just as they are.

Thank you Lord.

“I may have the gift to speak what God has revealed, and I may understand all mysteries and have all knowledge. I may even have enough faith to move mountains. But if I don’t have love, I am nothing” -1Cor13:2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=38LcrMZutJs

What are your thoughts?

