Week In Review: Never Give Up

Never, Never, Never Give Up.

No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, (Phil 3:13 NLT)


We must hold on to the progress we have already made. (Phil 3:16 NLT)

So I was supposed to write a “Week in Review” posting, but as I started to review my week I found myself getting very discouraged (sigh……as is my custom).  Last week started beautifully, with the Lord, but as the week progressed I feel like I started to unravel a bit, and get back to old worthless Krys. That is when God encouraged me with the above scripture….”Hold on the the progress you’ve made.” Its not about how much we fail….but move forward.

Specificallt Friday, Saturday, and Sunday were the days when things started to go downhill. As I mentioned before I started the Master Cleanse last Monday (Jan 9th) primarily for the weight loss benefits (the detox is just an added bonus) but I severly messed up on that this weekend by eating all kinds of crazy foods. So instead of losing lbs, I gained, and i felt all the hard work and progress I’d made throughout the week was down the drain. 😦

Spiritually I was diligent in spending time with the Lord as I know I should but towards the end of the week that sort of waned, and I was almost slipping back into life as usual again where I talk to God whenever I “feel” like it instead of everyday.

Mentally I was starting to despise the life that God has given me and instead I was starting to imagine how things should be different and “things would be better if”…..

So I woke up with that mentality in my head this morning. It was almost like life was staring me in the face saying “See….I told you that you cant REALLY change for the better or do anything differently”

And that was the mindframe that I was in when I picked up my bible and started to read Phil 3. Thats when the scriptures that jumped out at me where “Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead. We must hold on to the progress we have already made”

That is my encouragement….its SO easy for me to look at my failures and mess ups and completely disqualify myself. But God, is saying “Keep going, Today is a new day”.

So that is my encouragement and what will keep me pressing on. That is the scripture that i will recite and refer back to. That is what I’ll use for times like now…when I still feel a little failur-ish.

Never Give up.

Even in writing this blog, its hard, because its not like its my journal where I can just write whatever comes out as I please. Since this is public, I’m plagued by this thought of “Am I saying the right thing, or is it coming out write. So this is me saying to anyone who reads this, that what you read here will not always be poetic, or pretty, but it will be genuine.

Pressing on.

Krys

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Krys, I must say while I was reading this blog I realized your process is very similar to mine. There are so many times I start off on something really well, then I go downhill, and its seems I have to start all over again. But the good thing is we don’t have to start over, we can continue on. Our God is a great God.

    1. Hey Frieda! Thanks so much for reading, and I’m glad that your process is similar as well. It’s always helpful to know that we arent journeying alone 🙂

What are your thoughts?

